Newaygo County Mental Health Minutes of the Regular Meeting

June 13, 2019 10:18 a.m.

Call to Order/Welcome/Prayer

The regular monthly meeting of the Board of Directors of Newaygo County Mental Health was called to order by Chair Johnson at 10:18 a.m. on Thursday, June 13, 2019 in the Board Conference Room.

Member Taube opened the meeting with prayer.

Roll Call

Members Present: Ralph Bell, Sarah Boluyt, Kathy Broome, Ken DeLaat, Adele Hansen,

Steve Johnson, Catherine Kellerman, Todd Koopmans and Helen Taube

Members Excused: Michael Hamm, Bryan Kolk and Sue Twing

Others Present: Director Carol Mills, Jeff Labun, COO; Marc Geroux and Shannon

Woodside, recording secretary

Communications from the Public

There was no public comment.

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Member Broome, supported by Member DeLaat, to amend the agenda to include 8A. Closed Session and Art Wunsch Award under 12.Other. Discussion took place; motion carried unanimously.

Approval of Regular Minutes

Motion by Member Boluyt, supported by Member Koopmans, to approve the minutes of the Regular Board meeting of May 9, 2019. No discussion; motion carried unanimously.

Presentation

Marc Geroux presented on Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR). This is a therapy that encourages the patient to focus the trauma memory while simultaneously experiencing bilateral stimulation (eye movements), which is associated with a reduction in the vividness and emotion associated with the trauma memories.

Director's Update

Director Mills written report was reviewed with questions addressed.

Closed Session

Motion by Member Taube, supported by Member Broome, to enter into Closed Session to discuss litigation; to include Jeff Labun, Chief Operating Officer and Shannon Woodside, recording secretary. A roll call vote reflected the following:

Ayes: Bell, Boluyt, Broome, DeLaat, Hansen, Johnson, Kellerman, Koopmans, Taube

Nays: None

Absent: Hamm, Kolk, Twing

Motion carried unanimously.

The Board of Directors entered into closed session at 11:07 a.m. and returned to open session at 11:16 a.m.

Executive Committee

2019-2020 Committees

Reviewed the 2019-2020 Committees.

Director's Evaluation

Evaluations were submitted to Shannon Woodside.

Next meeting is July 2, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.

Finance

Check Register, Cash Statement and Financial report were reviewed with the following inquiries were addressed by Jeffrey Labun, Chief Operating Officer.

Check Register

95291 Fremont Area Foundation

\$ 1,500.00; This amount is for NCMH yearly dues.

Cash Statement

No questions.

Financial Report

No questions.

No meeting scheduled.

2018 Compliance Audit

Motion by Member Boluyt, supported by Member Hansen, to approve the 2018 Compliance Audit. Discussion took place; motion carried unanimously.

Newaygo County Hotspot Map

This is a map of the county and the red areas is indicates the people that we serve.

No meeting scheduled.

Policy Committee

The next meeting is July 16, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.

Recipient Rights

Next meeting is August 12, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.

Consumer Advisory Committee

Reviewed minutes of May 23, 2019.

Member Kellerman mentioned that Saginaw CMH is having an art show of consumer's art. This will be added to an upcoming Promotion and Education meeting. Bay-Arenac has a Behavioral Dad and baby group and a Depression and Chronic Pain group.

Member Koopmans said the Autism presentation by John Wade was very good and there was a lot of questions asked.

Member Broome is working on an article about Empowerment Network.

Next meeting is August 22, 2019 at 12:30 p.m.

Promotion & Education Committee

The next meeting will be June 24, 2019 at 1:00 p.m.

Mid-State Health Network (MSHN)

Members Johnson shared the following:

- 298
- 1115 Medicaid Waiver application has not been posted
- Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities Administration (BHDDA) there are rumors that it might be moved under the Medicaid Service Administration. The board association is strongly opposing this move.
- Section 928 Every year money is sent back to the State. Area counties are signing a resolution to keep the money local.

CMHAM

No report.

Art Wunsch Award

This award was presented to Michael Geoghan, former CEO of Newaygo County Mental Health.

Communications from the Public

There was no public comment.

Adjournment

Member Johnson adjourned the meeting at 11:49 a.m.

Steve Johnson, Chairperson	Sarah Boluyt, Secretary